Glenmorangie named 'Distiller of the Year'

The Glenmorangie portfolio.
Glenmorangie today was announced as "Distiller of the Year" winner in the annual Wine Enthusiast Wine Star Awards.

According to Wine Enthusiast magazine, Glenmorangie's nomination resulted from its innovation "ranging from polished classics and elegant cask-finished whiskies to its 2011 release of the luxurious Glenmorangie Pride 1981 bottling."

Glenmorangie pioneered the now widely-used techniques of extra maturation, best illustrated in its 12 years old Extra Matured Range: Lasanta (Sherry Finish), Quinta Ruban (Port Finish) and Nectar d'Or (Sauternes Finish). After spending 10 years in American white oak bourbon casks, each expression is extra-matured in wine casks for two more years.

Glenmorangie Pride 1981 is the longest extra maturation Glenmorangie has ever offered. It is matured in oak for 18 years before being aged in Chateau d'Yquem Sauternes casks for another 10 years. Presented in a Baccarat crystal decanter, it is an extremely rare, limited edition of only 1,000 bottles worldwide.

The Glenmorangie distillery was founded in 1843 in the Highlands of Scotland and has a reputation as a pioneer in whisky creation, now overseen by Dr. Bill Lumsden.

To Dowd's Wine Notebook latest entry. 
To Dowd's Brews Notebook latest entry. 
To Dowd's Tasting Notes latest entry. 
Back to Dowd's Guides home page.

No comments: